Thalias BlogRead the Latest News From Thalias

 

Rasey SUN
Pin It

After studying International Business Law in French at the Royal University of Phnom Penh, Rasey Sun, 29, became a lawyer. Cambodge Mag met her to find out more about her journey.

Can you introduce yourself in a few words?
My name is Rasey Sun, I am 29 years old. I was born in Battambang of two merchant parents.

What studies have you pursued?
I did a Masters degree in International Business Law at the Royal University of Phnom Penh (RUPP). This training was carried out in collaboration with the Universities of Lille 2 and Paris 2. The courses I took were exclusively in French and given by French professors. In my class, there were only six Cambodians against fifteen French. I have a diploma which allows me to work in France and Cambodia.

Under what circumstances did you learn French?
I started learning French at the age of eight. There was a French cultural centre right next door to my home, and my parents encouraged me to take classes there. Then I continued to learn this language in high school, I was in a bilingual Khmer/French school.

Did you have difficulties learning this language?
In my opinion French is a little more difficult to learn than English. But having started to learn the language at a fairly young age, the learning process was relatively simple.

bHave you ever been to France?
I had the opportunity to go to France twice, to see friends. I was able to visit Nice and Paris which are very beautiful cities. I liked France very much, especially the food. Also, I visited the country in May 2018, so the climate was very pleasant.

What were your impressions during your first trip to France?
France is nothing like I had imagined. It’s a very modern country but I especially found the cost of living very high. I was also struck by the fact that in France young people and retired people live completely separate lives. In Cambodia it is very common for children/grandchildren to live with their parents/grandparents. Conversely, I find that in France retired people are quite alone. Children do not often see their parents.

What is your job today?
I am currently a Legal & compliance Manager for the Thalias Hospitality group. My role is to ensure the company’s compliance. I like my job very much because it is very diversified, I am not attached to a single mission. I draw up contracts, give advice... At the same time I work with the Alliance Française de Siem Reap as General Secretary.

Do you have plans for the future?
I don't really have a concrete project but I am very interested in diplomacy and international relations. I like to travel and I am passionate about what is happening in Cambodia and in the world in general.